Executive Officers

The Air Canada Pilots Association (ACPA) is led by its officers: the Chair of the Master Elected Council (MEC) and the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

First Officer Gary Russell thumbnail

First Officer Gary Russell

Chair, Master Elected Council (MEC)

Chair, Master Elected Council (MEC)

Gary Russell is a B-787 First Officer based in Vancouver. Prior to his election as MEC Chair in October 2021 he served as a member of the MEC (2016-2019 and 2021). First Officer Russell has been actively involved in the Association in a number of roles, including as LEC Councillor and Chair of the External Affairs Committee.

Like many pilots in Canada, First Officer Russell began his flying career as a flight instructor and later a pilot in Northern Canada before being hired by Air Canada in 2007 on the Embraer.

As MEC Chair, First Officer Russell presides over MEC meetings and acts as the pilots' principal representative to Air Canada on employment matters, including negotiation and administration of the AC ACPA Collective Agreement. The Chair speaks on behalf of the MEC and is the official spokesperson for the Association. The Chair works with ACPA’s Chief Executive Officer, to pursue the Association’s broader objectives and policies.
Rob Giguere thumbnail

Rob Giguere

Chief Executive Officer

Chief Executive Officer

A veteran pilot, retired Captain Robert G. Giguere has enjoyed an extensive career in aviation since he began his airline career on the DC-8 with Air Canada in 1974. He has tremendous experience and knowledge of the airline industry garnered over his career which included senior executive positions with Air Canada and Skyservice Airlines.

Most recently, Mr. Giguere was an independent aviation consultant, advising a range of firms including ORNGE Inc., the Ontario-based not-for-profit air ambulance service. From 2012-2018, Mr. Giguere was Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer at ORNGE, responsible for Safety, Aviation & Paramedic Operations and the Operations Control Centre, ensuring a coordinated multi-team response in support of patient care.

He joined Skyservice Airlines in 2004, first serving as President and Chief Operating Officer and then Chief Executive Officer in 2008. Prior to that, he was Executive Vice President of Operations at Air Canada from 2000 to 2004, following roles of increasing responsibility as Standards Check Pilot, Flight Manager, Chief Pilot and Senior Vice-President of Flight Operations. Throughout his career Captain Giguere maintained line currency completing his last airline flight on the Airbus in 2010.  

While a line pilot, Mr. Giguere served CALPA as the Master Scheduling Chairman, Council Chairman and was instrumental in the first Pilot Furlough Deferral program in 1982. During his tenure as a line pilot he was seconded once each to Air Jamaica and NWT Air.

He has been actively involved in many industry groups including the International Air Transport Association (IATA) and Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC). He has served as Chairman of the Operations Committee of Air Transport Association of America (ATA). Mr. Giguere was made a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society in 2017.

He holds an Airline Transport Pilot and Flight Engineer licence, as well as a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Manitoba. He lives with his wife in Mississauga, Ontario.